The Case For Christ

For the record, I haven’t read the book, so I walked in with no expectations except what I had gotten from the trailer I saw and a couple online movie reviews. Just saying, I was really proud that it got a higher rating on Rotten Tomatoes than Beauty and the Beast (2017), which I will be writing a review on…probably…eventually…but maybe not, since my opinion can be summed up with, “It was good, but not as good as the original which didn’t need a reboot.”

Subject

Summary

After a profound atheist’s wife becomes a Christian, he sets out to prove with REAL evidence that Jesus Christ never rose from the dead.

Other Stuff

Well, a story about a staunch atheist converting to Christianity isn’t usually the thing that people get all excited for. Particularly, I’d imagine, for atheists. We all know the real draw: someone suggests that they can PROVE the resurrection of Jesus Christ to be true. People want to see if this someone can support their claim with convincing evidence. I went to see the movie merely to see it, since I’m a Christian and neither can anything on earth can make me believe otherwise nor do I need proof to believe what I have seen, but I don’t know; maybe someone, somewhere, went to try and figure out what they believe about the whole “Jesus thing.”

Anywhatisit…this is a true story. Lee Strobel (played by Mike Vogel in the movie) is a real dude. He actually wrote a book titled The Case For Christ which I have not read but assume tells the same story as the movie while including all his evidence and stuff. And it’s not like Secretariat where Disney adds the magic where the woman talks to the horse through eye-speak (although I suppose some would consider praying as ridiculous as that…I’m biased, ok?). I did see that part at the end of the credits where they said they changed some names and all that, so I suppose it is based on a true story.

The main characters were Lee Strobel, his wife Leslie, his daughter Alison, and a nurse who saved Alison from choking. There was also his rival, boss, sidekick, and mentor (four different people, mind you) at his job as a reporter at the Chicago Times or something. They showed the building several times in the movie and he told people his job but I still forgot. :b Other characters include the people that Strobel interviewed for facts on Jesus’ resurrection credibility, including a psychologist, Dr. Roberta Waters, played by Faye Dunaway, as well as the characters involved in a crime that Strobel was reporting on.

Form

So…it was predictable. I’ll admit it. The basic plot was exactly what I expected. But they weren’t trying to create suspense, anyway, so it’s ok! And some of the stuff wasn’t what I expected, like when he interviewed people and traveled everywhere. But I liked this movie because, for the most part, they “showed-not-told,” which, if you know me, is the most important part of any story in my opinion.

I had problems with the way Alfie, the nurse who saved Alison, was portrayed…she was kind of annoying because she acted like she knew EVERYTHING. And yeah, she was supposed to be a supportive mentor character, but she acted so cheesy…I’m being too critical.

The settings were believable, although there was this part where Strobel interviewed a guy who called a meal something that starts with a c and is a bad word but not quite a swear word, when he realistically would have called it something that starts with an s and is a swear word. But, yeah, keep it PG.

Content

One thing I liked about that movie is that they didn’t really claim that God is real or that the resurrection happened (of course they implied it, they are Christian, it is what we believe)–it was mostly about Lee Strobel’s journey of how he came to his own decision and why.

The emotional drama of this movie was really good in general. A bit of it was unconvincing to me, but, although I’m not proud of it, I have tried hardened my heart to movie drama in an effort to not cry and embarrass myself. Some of it, though, was enough to move me. And that’s good! Did you understand that paragraph? I didn’t!

Okay. The evidence Lee Strobel found throughout the movie, when you look at it, still has holes. You are trusting that the people Strobel talks to aren’t lying. However, that wasn’t the point of the movie, and I’m trusting that the book has more solid evidence. So if you’re also doubtful about the convincing-ness of the evidence in the movie, READ THE BOOK! It is easy to remember, it has the same title as this post and is written by Lee Strobel, a guy you’ve heard about.

Some themes of this movie were the powers of science, truth, and love…and their limitations. Science can only take you so far, truth can be subjective if someone doesn’t feel what someone else feels, and love HAS NO LIMITATIONS BOOH YAH IN YOUR FACE! (Was that not a loving thing to say?) Because, in the end, Lee Strobel came to the conclusion, “Okay, God. You win.”, but not because of the evidence. The facts weren’t enough–you can’t prove that Jesus rose from the dead if you don’t believe Jesus rose from the dead. Science wasn’t enough–you can find the “what” of what happened based on facts, evidence, substance, but you cannot find the “why.” Because “why” is based on feelings, which can’t be proven true by evidence and according to science are a bunch of electrical signals. Lee Strobel surrendered to Jesus because He loved him. That’s why the theme I’m stamping on this movie is, BAM: “Love conquers all.” Because not only is love undeniable, like truth, and tangible, like science, it is also a feeling, which makes it unstoppable. Call me lame, I watch too much Disney and listen to too much K-LOVE.

A totally recommended movie! And for the record, I thought of this “recommendation” thingy before I ever read anything on Plugged In! So I didn’t mean to copy it! Wait, did I use “for the record” twice? Ug.

Leave a Reply

