Barbie: Rock ‘n Royals

Barbie Rock ‘n Royals was the Last Honest Barbie Movie. And hardly even that. However, I like it and I like the music!

Description

A princess and a pop star get assigned to the wrong neighboring camps and must try to fit in. Meanwhile, the two camps have a singing/music competition in which the loser must close its doors for good.

Themes

Teamwork, accepting people’s differences, don’t be afraid to show your talents, don’t let differences keep you from having “something special”

You have turned my wailing into dancing; you have removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy, that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent. LORD my God, I will praise you forever. Psalm 30:11-12

Comments

I really like the storyline of Rock ‘n Royals. Although the acting is relatively cheap, the songs are catchy and likable, and the animation is pretty good. Also, Kelly Sheridan plays Barbie, so it has some reminiscence of the Golden Age of Barbie movies–before Barbie: A Fashion Fairytale. 

I also like the opening credits. Even better than some of the original ones, it gives you a little background as to what is going on: a princess and a musician are packing for something.

Courtney and Sloane are my favorite characters. Not that I don’t like the other characters, but I resonate most with these two. Courtney is shy and unsure of herself (and sings and plays piano/keyboard!) and Sloane is sassy.

This movie is recommended for people who aren’t interested in a super intense, dramatic story and who don’t get easily annoyed by music.

Leave a Reply

