Queen of Katwe

I just saw Queen of Katwe yesterday. It is an excellent movie, with all the scenes, sets, and character development beautifully portrayed.

Description

A young girl living in the slums of Katwe in Kampala, Uganda, is introduced to the game of chess. Her natural talent for the game leads her to win several championships and she fights for a chance to get her family out of their circle of poverty.

Themes

Underdogs rising, be kind to the poor, family is more important than fame, “Sometimes where we are is not where we belong,” everyone deserves an opportunity to rise above

When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom. Proverbs 11:2

Before a downfall the heart is haughty, but humility comes before honor. Proverbs 18:12

Comments

I really liked the suspense that the movie gave. In stories like Queen of Katwe‘s, you know that the main character is going to gain what they were after. But the character development of Phiona, how she went from hopeless of change to hopeful of improvement to prideful of her talent to discouraged by her defeat to humbled and determined as a result of her fierce personality, kept me on the edge of my seat.

I know how to play chess, but my highlights of watching the chess element of the movie was mostly, “Hey! She moved a rook! Check out my mad chess vocabulary!” My brother, however, can read chess and knew what she was doing when she moved certain ways.

Literally the only complaint I had about anything in this movie was the one overhead scene of Moscow. It looked really CGI-ish. However, now that I have complained about anything in the movie I feel really bad.

Queen of Katwe is a beautiful story with sympathetic characters. And it’s true, which is the most inspiring part. Totally and completely recommended, and as a side note, my dad says the movie should win the Academy Award for best picture. I agree.

Leave a Reply

